The A-Z of C.S. Lewis by Colin Duriez (Book Review)

A Complete Guide to His Life, Thoughts and Writings

Many thanks to the author and Litfuse Publicity for providing me a free copy of this novel in exchange for my honest review.

The A-Z of C.S. Lewis

Duriez has placed a vast amount of information between the covers of The A-Z of C.S. Lewis. The text is in encyclopedia format and compiled into alphabetical order from A-Z.  Topics range from definitions of words, characters and creatures found in his writings to detailed descriptions of each of his works including those that never reached publication.  Examples under A include allegory, Arnom, albatross and “After Ten Years.”  Fans of C.S. Lewis will enjoy learning more about their favorite Lewis creations.  This book is not an easy read and serves best as a reference guide.  Individuals looking to gain familiarity with C.S. Lewis literature may do well to consider pairing this resource with a collection of his works such as “A Year With C.S. Lewis:  Daily Readings from His Classic Works.”

About the Book:

Published to coincide with the 50th anniversary of C. S. Lewis’s death, this complete guide covers all of Lewis’ works, from his literary criticism to Narnia

C. S. Lewis’s work is widely known and regarded, but enthusiasts are often only aware of one part of his work—his children’s stories and his popular theology; and yet he wrote so much more, including science fiction and literary criticism. This volume brings together all aspects of C S Lewis’s life and thought. Arranged in alphabetical order, it begins with The Abolition of Man—written in 1943 and described as “almost my favorite”—to Wormwood, a character in The Screwtape Letters. This book will delight anyone who is interested in C. S. Lewis and wants to learn more about him, his thought, his works, and his life.

About the Author:

Colin Duriez was for many years a commissioning editor at Inter-Varsity Press UK. He has subsequently appeared as a commentator on DVDs of Peter Jackson’s The Lord of the Rings, and BBC television’s The Worlds of Fantasy. He is also the author of “The Inklings Handbook” (with the late David Porter), “J.R.R. Tolkien and C.S. Lewis: The Story of Their Friendship,” and “Tolkien and The Lord of the Rings,” and has contributed to definitive reference works relating to Tolkien such as “The Tolkien Encyclopedia” (Routledge).

Leave a Reply